top of page

The Story of One Night

Updated: Mar 2, 2020

This short story is truly one of a kind. It can be compared to some of the best creepypastas. I highly recommend you read it if you want a chill to go down your spine .


Written by: Klakier, 1stgrade


I have never thought of myself as someone special or particularly interesting. My life has always been rather normal, except for one thing – my job. I used to only tell people close to me about it as the others wouldn’t take me seriously. I work in the police force, as the first person to arrive at the crime scene, securing every piece of evidence, taking care of victims, talking to witnesses, in other words, I am an investigator. I have seen a few horrible cases in my time, that sometimes keep me up at night, but after doing it for over ten years, you get used to some things, and you don’t even realize how numb you have become. Dead bodies are no longer much of a surprise, nor blood or murder weapons. I have become one of those people, who doesn’t really care about anything, I have seen enough unusual shit to stop giving a damn.


I do have a few friends, but Lily is the one that truly understands me being partners and all. She is a pretty young girl, much younger than me, but definitely smarter. We get along, which definitely helps. Not having a good relationship with someone you see almost every day doesn’t exactly make you feel comfortable.


“Hey Nick, I’m sorry to interrupt your precious sleep, but I need your help here.” Her voice was always soft, and I knew that she cared about me and my sleep. It’s a nice feeling, having someone that cares.


Getting woken up by a phone call is totally normal in my line of work. To be fair, most crimes are committed in the cover of night, so it’s not like I get to choose. Left with no other choice, I got up and hastily sorted myself out. Brushing my hair with one hand, drinking coffee with the other. Nothing out of my routine. Dressed now in a suit, I began the drive to the sent address.


Living in the suburbs has its pluses, but the road sure isn’t one of them. I waste about twenty minutes getting to work, but I just can’t bring myself to move to the heart of the city. It would be too loud and stressful, so here I am, driving my car, listening to the Smiths, wondering what it will be this time and how fast I will be able to come back home.


That night I didn’t expect to see anyone on the streets, so my heart skipped a beat when I saw a tall, slim silhouette of a man, running across the zebra crossing in front of me. I hit the brakes as hard as I could, trying with all my might to save his life, and eventually, he made it to the other side. I drove past the crossing, honking a little too furiously at the pedestrian, perhaps trying to teach him a lesson. I felt pure fear as he turned his head, looked directly at my rear-view mirror, and into my eyes, as if he was staring at my soul. His face… well, it didn’t exist at all. At first, I thought that maybe I was just tired, and my mind was playing tricks on me, but now I know what I saw was true, his face was just a very pale canvas without any eyes, lips or a nose. After that, I have no idea at all what happened, but I couldn’t stop thinking about it.


Once on the crime scene Lily greeted me kindly, as if she were waiting for me, too scared to look around alone. When I first met her, I thought she was definitely too soft to deal with all this criminal stuff, but somehow she’s managed to stay the same as on her first day at work - friendly and optimistic.


“Come on in, be my guest,” she says humorously while approaching my car. On our way to the house, she fills me in on the case. “Dead woman around thirty, found on her bed with a gunshot wound. Murder suspect is obviously her husband, who has yet to be found.” As we walk into the victim’s bedroom I can paint the picture myself of what happened. A young, pretty woman shot right in the middle of her forehead, dressed only in pyjamas. I pretend not to see Lily flinching.


“I’d say that she had an affair. He got mad, killed her and ran away. Classic story. I bet we’ll even find the gun if we look around,” I said, glancing around the room. Lily started bagging evidence, and I decided to check some of the less obvious spots, like the closet and the space under the bed. Unfortunately, I didn’t find anything of interest, so I just sat down in the armchair, watching my friend at work. I looked at the victim. Does she… Does she have a face? At first sight, I really didn’t think that she had a normal face, just like the guy in the street, but as I focused more, I saw her lifeless, blue eyes, covered with blond hair and her lips, as pale as the next dead body, yet there was something different about them… Terrified, I see them move, as if she were whispering something.


“Lily, can you see that?” I say, pointing at the victim. Lily takes a look at her, then turns her head back to me, and within a second I know, she has no idea what I am talking about.

“She was speaking… Look, her lips are moving!”


“D’you sleep enough today, Nick? Well… I know I woke you up, but still, don’t tell me you were surprised by that,” she looked at me full of concern. I then gave some excuse about sleeping badly, and hoped she would get back to her work. I knew that she didn’t believe me, or more likely she didn’t want to believe any of it, but I know what I saw. A dead woman, trying to talk, trying to say something to us, and me, ignoring her.


“I’ll go talk to the neighbours. Maybe get some caffeine in you, I’m pretty sure I saw a coffee machine in the kitchen,” mentioned Lily before leaving me alone. I didn’t want a drink, the only thing I wanted was for this whole show to finally end. I was genuinely frightened.


I glanced around the room one last time, and that’s when I saw it, right there in the corner, darker than the rest of the room. Some kind of creature, dressed in weird looking white sheets, holding a sickle, covered in dark red blood, dripping all over the floor. It was looking straight at me, but it didn’t have a face, just like the guy in the street, and the dead girl lying in front of me momentarily. Without hesitation, I got straight up and sprinted outside. I had no idea if it was following me, as I jumped into my car and drove off as fast as I could. For a short moment, I thought about poor Lily, but came to the conclusion - she wouldn’t believe me anyway. I put some of my favourite music on, but nothing could make me feel better, I knew that something was coming. I don’t even know how many speed limits and laws I broke on my drive home, but I was trying to get there as soon as humanly possible.


Opening my front door, I still felt something, a feeling I can’t really describe. I told myself, that it’s just tiredness, so I headed straight for my bedroom, ready to go straight to sleep, but little did I know, I wasn’t safe.


I died inside, as I saw the creature, one more time, hunched in the corner of my kitchen, holding its disturbing sickle while looking straight at me. For a short while, I just stood there, trying to find a reasonable explanation for this entire freak show, but then it hit me. The creature had been waiting for me.


For one last time, I ran as fast as I could.


Now, I am sitting here, in my closet. With my gun in my hand, but I know that I won’t be able to defend myself. It’s not from this world. Wait, I can hear it breathing. It’s comi...

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page